How to delete a workspace in Asana

How to delete a workspace in Asana.

In this video I’m going to show you how to delete a workspace in Asana.
You would think that this doesn’t warrant a video explanation, but there’s no delete workspace option in the menu and so you have to go through a short process to just ensure your data is removed before you can close out the deletion process.

Transcript

In this video i’m going to show you how to delete a workspace in Asana. You would think that this doesn’t warrant a video explanation but there is no such thing as the ‘delete workspace’ option in the menu.
You have to go through a short process to ensure your data is removed before you can close out the deletion process.

This is our Asana workspace. For this particular workspace this is my Digital Rain workspace here and within it we can see the projects, we can see the team, and we can see the projects within the team.

One of the first things that we should really look at are the options within our account because this tells us within our profile settings. Within the account tab it shows you which workspaces you are assigned to or part of and then which organisations you’re a part of so you’re included in some of their projects.

What we’re looking at here is we’re going to delete this workspace called ‘other projects’ that I created. The way to do that is to go into that particular workspace. We can see that I’ve done most of the work already so there’s one project here we’ll have to delete.
Delete all of the projects and delete all of the people from the workspace.

Here we can see we now have a workspace that has no projects in it and no teams other than myself. It’s at this point that we can delete this workspace but what is really interesting is if we go to this ‘more’ settings there isn’t a delete. Even though we are the creator of this workspace there is no tab here that says delete.

It would have been nice for Asana to try and make that a little bit clearer because you want to know that all the data has disappeared. If there’s nothing in there then essentially you have deleted that project. Let’s have a look again inside our profile settings. Hey presto this workspace has gone it is essentially deleted but it’s a very unusual way of doing things and I guess that’s why so many people are confused.

Just to reiterate that process again. You go to the ‘more’ setting and remove yourself from this workspace.

If it’s a workspace that you created and you want to remove yourself from it you have to delete all of the projects and all of the people such that you’re the last person and there is no data within that workspace and then you go to the more tab and remove yourself from that workspace and it’s gone.

It’s a bit of a roundabout way to deleting. It doesn’t actually use the word delete, but I’m reliably informed that this is how to
delete a workspace.

Asana Consulting
If you need help with setting up Asana do please contact me, I work with clients across the globe to get the best out of Asana and other technology platforms.

How to delete a workspace in Asana

Take a look at my Asana Consulting page.  For more about Asana see here.

You May Also Like…

The Biggest Mistakes in Asana, and how to avoid them

The Biggest Mistakes in Asana, and how to avoid them

The Biggest Mistakes in Asana, and how to avoid them. As part of my consulting business, I help SME’s implement Asana, the collaborative Project Management platform. In this video I’m going to talk about some of the more common mistakes I see when working with...

How to use time tracking to increase your productivity

How to use time tracking to increase your productivity

How to use time tracking to increase your productivity Why should you track your time ? "How we spend our days is of course how we spend our lives," wrote author Annie Dillard. UK research found that office staff were productive for just 2hrs and 53 minutes of the...

Contact

Phone

+855 963 271 408 / +44 203 290 7071

Email

chris@cjwray.com

Offices

London, Prague, Phnom Penh